A court of frost and sta.., p.21
Larger Font   Reset Font Size   Smaller Font       Night Mode Off   Night Mode

       A Court of Frost and Starlight, p.21
Download  in MP3 audio

         Part #3.10 of A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
He dragged those star-flecked eyes to Feyre, and it was all Nesta could do to keep from collapsing onto the couch as her knees gave out.

  Feyre angled her head at her mate, nostrils flaring. “You can either leave,” she hissed at him, “or you can stay and keep your mouth shut.”

  Rhys just crossed his arms. But said nothing.

  “You too,” Feyre spat in Amren’s direction.

  The little female harrumphed and nestled back in her chair.

  Nesta didn’t bother to look pleasant as Feyre twisted to face her. Her sister swallowed. “We need to make some changes, Nesta,” Feyre said hoarsely. “You do—and we do.”

  They were kicking her out. Throwing her into the wild, perhaps to go back to the human lands—

  “I’ll take the blame,” Feyre went on, “for things getting this far, and getting this bad. After the war, with everything else that was going on, it … you … I should have been there to help you, but I wasn’t, and I am ready to admit that this is partially my fault.”

  “That what is your fault,” Nesta demanded.

  “You,” Cassian said from the armchair to her left. “This bullshit behavior.”

  Her spine locked up, fire boiled in her veins at the insult, the arrogance—

  “I understand how you’re feeling,” Feyre cut in.

  “You know nothing about how I’m feeling,” Nesta snapped.

  “It’s time for some changes.” Feyre plowed ahead. “Starting now.”

  “Keep your self-righteous do-gooder nonsense out of my life.”

  “You don’t have a life,” Feyre retorted. “You have quite the opposite. And I’m not going to sit by and watch you destroy yourself for another moment.”

  “Oh?”

  Rhys tensed at the sneer, but said nothing, as he’d promised.

  “I want you out of Velaris,” Feyre breathed, her voice shaking.

  Nesta tried—tried and failed—not to feel the blow, the sting of the words. Though she didn’t know why she was surprised by it.

  There were no paintings of her in this house, they did not invite her to parties or dinners anymore, they certainly didn’t visit—

  “And where,” Nesta asked, her voice mercifully icy, “am I supposed to go?”

  Feyre only looked to Cassian.

  And for once, the Illyrian warrior wasn’t grinning as he said, “You’re coming with me to the Illyrian Mountains.”

  ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

  In the course of writing this tale, I wound up going through two of the biggest events of my life. This past summer, I was about a third of the way into drafting A Court of Frost and Starlight when I got the worst sort of phone call from my mom: my father had suffered a massive heart attack, and it was unlikely that he would survive. What happened next was nothing short of a miracle, and the fact that my dad is alive today to see this book come out fills me with more joy than I can express.

  The incredible ICU team at the University of Vermont in Burlington will forever have my deepest gratitude. Not only for saving my father’s life, but also for the unparalleled care and compassion that he (and my entire family) received during the two weeks we spent camped out in the hospital. The ICU nurses will always be my heroes—your tireless hard work, unfailing positivity, and remarkable intelligence are the stuff of legends. You offered my family a ray of hope during the darkest days of our lives, and never once made us feel the tremendous weight of the odds stacked against us. Thank you, thank you, thank you for all that you do and have done, both for my family and for countless others.

  I managed to finish writing A Court of Frost and Starlight after that (thanks to a few healing weeks spent up in beautiful Maine), but it wasn’t until early autumn that the second life-changing thing happened: I found out that I was pregnant. To go from a summer that ranks among the worst days of my life to that sort of joy was such an enormous blessing, and though this tale will release a few weeks before I’m due to give birth, A Court of Frost and Starlight will always hold a special place in my heart because of it.

  But I couldn’t have gotten through these long months of working on this project without my husband, Josh. (I couldn’t get through life without Josh.) So, thank you to the greatest husband in any world, for taking such good care of me, both before and during this pregnancy, and making sure that I had everything I needed to stay focused and make this book a reality (some prime examples: endless plates of snacks, tea on demand, finding me the comfiest of pillows to prop my swollen feet on). I love you to the stars and back, and I can’t wait for this next epic chapter in our journey together.

  And Annie. My sweet, sassy babypup, Annie. Thank you for the warm cuddles and whiskery kisses, for being such a joy and a comfort on both the brightest and darkest of days. There is no greater or more faithful canine companion than you. I love you forever.

  As always, I owe a huge debt to my agent, Tamar Rydzinski. Thank you, thank you, thank you for being in my corner, for keeping me sane, and for your wisdom and guidance. None of this would be possible without you.

  To the badass team at the Laura Dail Literary Agency: you guys rock. Thank you for everything. And Cassie Homer: you are the absolute best, and I am so grateful for all that you do.

  Bethany Buck: thank you for all your help with this book, and for being such a lovely person. And thank you x infinity to the entire team at Bloomsbury: Cindy Loh, Cristina Gilbert, Kathleen Farrar, Nigel Newton, Rebecca McNally, Sonia Palmisano, Emma Hopkin, Ian Lamb, Emma Bradshaw, Lizzy Mason, Courtney Griffin, Erica Barmash, Emily Ritter, Alona Fryman, Alexis Castellanos, Grace Whooley, Alice Grigg, Elise Burns, Jenny Collins, Beth Eller, Kelly de Groot, Lucy Mackay-Sim, Hali Baumstein, Melissa Kavonic, Diane Aronson, Donna Mark, John Candell, Nicholas Church, Anna Bernard, Kate Sederstrom, and the entire foreign rights team: I’m so thrilled to be published by you.

  Charlie Bowater: Your art is such an inspiration to me on so many levels. Thank you for all of your tremendous work, and for the truly stunning border on the cover. It’s such a dream come true to collaborate with you, and I can’t wait to work with you more in the future.

  To my family: Thank you for the love and support you gave my dad and me this summer. You flew and drove in from all across the country to be there for us in Vermont, and almost a year later, I still don’t have the words to convey my gratitude or how much I love you all. I am so very blessed to have you in my life.

  To my parents: it’s been one hell of a year, but we made it. I’ll never stop being amazed and grateful that I can even say those words. I love you both.

  To my marvelous friends (you know who you are): Thank you for being there when I needed you most, for checking on me and my family, and for never failing to bring a smile to my face.

  And lastly, to everyone out there who has picked up my books: thank you. You are the greatest group of people that I’ve ever met, and I’m honored to have you as readers. To the stars who listen—and the dreams that are answered.

  EXCITED FOR THE NEXT A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES INSTALLMENT?

  CHECK OUT THE

  SERIES WHILE YOU WAIT!

  PRAISE FOR THE NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING THRONE OF GLASS SERIES

  THE ASSASSIN’S BLADE

  “Fans will delight in this gorgeous edition.… Action-packed and full of insight into Celaena’s character.… What a ride!” —Booklist

  THRONE OF GLASS

  A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book

  An Amazon Best Book

  A YALSA-ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book

  * “A thrilling read.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

  “A must-read for lovers of epic fantasy and fairy tales.” —USA Today

  “Fans of Tamora Pierce and George R.R. Martin, pick up this book!” —RT Book Reviews, Top Pick

  CROWN OF MIDNIGHT

  * “An epic fantasy readers will immerse themselves in and never want to leave.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

  “A thrill ride of epic fantasy p
roportions.” —USA Today

  HEIR OF FIRE

  “Celaena is as much an epic hero as Frodo or Jon Snow!” —New York Times bestselling author Tamora Pierce

  “Readers will devour Maas’s latest entry.… A must-purchase.” —SLJ

  QUEEN OF SHADOWS

  The Goodreads Choice Award Winner for Best Young Adult Fantasy and Science Fiction for 2015

  “Character motivations and interactions … are always nuanced and on point, especially as Aelin’s growing maturity offers her new perspectives on old acquaintances.… Impossible to put down.” —Kirkus Reviews

  “Fans of the high-fantasy series likely won’t mind the protracted story at all, packed as it is with brooding glances, simmering sexual tension, twisty plot turns, lush world building, and snarky banter.” —Booklist

  EMPIRE OF STORMS

  An Amazon Best Book

  A BuzzFeed Best Book

  “Tightly plotted, delightful escapism.” —Kirkus Reviews

  “Fans devoted to the series (and there are many) will be eager for this installment’s cinematic action, twisty schemes, and intense revelations of secrets and legacies.” —Booklist

  “More adventure and romance await fans of Maas’s high-fantasy series in this … fifth installment of Aelin’s epic journey to save humanity.” —The Horn Book Guide

  TOWER OF DAWN

  An Amazon Best Book

  A Barnes & Noble Best Book

  “Turns a corner from sprawling epic to thrilling psychological fantasy.” —HuffPost

  “Will leave readers spellbound.” —RT Book Reviews

  www.bloomsbury.com

  Twitter: BloomsburyKids

  Snapchat: BloomsburyYA

  BLOOMSBURY YA

  Bloomsbury Publishing Inc., part of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

  1385 Broadway, New York, NY 10018

  BLOOMSBURY and the Diana logo are trademarks of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

  First published in the United States of America in May 2018 by Bloomsbury YA

  Text copyright © 2018 by Sarah J. Maas

  Map copyright © 2017 by Kelly de Groot

  Exclusive and special edition endpapers copyright © by Monolime

  All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or any information storage or retrieval system, without prior permission in writing from the publisher.

  Bloomsbury books may be purchased for business or promotional use. For information on bulk purchases please contact Macmillan Corporate and Premium Sales Department at specialmarkets@macmillan.com

  Library of Congress Cataloging-in-Publication Data

  Names: Maas, Sarah J., author

  Title: A court of frost and starlight / by Sarah J. Maas.

  Description: New York : Bloomsbury, 2018.

  Summary: As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, she finds that those dearest to her have more wounds than she anticipated—scars that will have a far-reaching impact on the future of their court.

  Identifiers: LCCN 2017056214

  ISBN 978-1-68119-631-2 (hardcover) • ISBN 978-1-68119-906-1 (e-book)

  Subjects: | CYAC: Fantasy. | Fairies—Fiction. | Winter solstice—Fiction.

  Classification: LCC PZ7.M111575 Cj 2018 | DDC [Fic]—dc23

  LC record available at https://lccn.loc.gov/2017056214

  ISBN 978-1-5476-0035-9 (exclusive edition) • ISBN 978-1-5476-0038-0 (special edition)

  To be kept up-to-date about our authors and books, please visit www.bloomsbury.com/newsletters and sign up for our newsletters, including news about Sarah J. Maas.

 


 

  Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Frost and Starlight

  (Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses # 3.10)

 

 


 

 
Thank you for reading books on BookFrom.Net

Share this book with friends

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
Turn Navi Off
Turn Navi On
Scroll Up
Scroll
Add comment

Add comment