The Strangers

      Jacqueline West
The Strangers

Olive thought she'd uncovered all the house's secrets. She was wrong.

It's Halloween night when strangers come to Linden Street...and something dear to Olive goes missing. To what lengths will she go to get it back? Can she trust the strangers? Will she turn to a new and dangerous magic within the paintings of Elsewhere? Or will she put her faith in her own worst enemies to save the people and home she loves?

The stakes grow higher, the secrets more dangerous, and mystery and magic abound as Olive, the boys, and the cats uncover the true nature of the house on Linden Street. A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.


Read online

    Dreamers Often Lie

      Jacqueline West
Dreamers Often Lie

Liar meets Romeo and Juliet in this Shakespeare-inspired young adult novel about whether to trust yourself when everyone is telling you your instincts are wrong—for fans of Holly Black, Laini Taylor, and Black Swan, by New York Times bestselling author Jacqueline West.
 
Jaye wakes up in the hospital, disoriented, and beset by a slippery morphing of reality into something else. She repeatedly sees a boy who she feels like she knows—but that's impossible. Determined to get back to school and back to A Midsummer Night's Dream, in which she's starring, she lies to her sister, her mom, and her doctors—she’s fine, she says. She’s fine, she’s fine, she’s fine. But then on her first day back, she takes a seat in class . . . next to the mysterious boy. Queasy with anxiety ("I can’t see you," she hisses at him, "because you’re not really here"), Jaye realizes this boy is, in fact, real. And he has no idea what she's talking about. Caught between this fascinating, empathetic new kid and her childhood friend turned recent love interest,  Jaye begins to notice unnerving similarities between her circumstances and those of some of Shakespeare's most famous plays. Tingling banter and clandestine meet-ups give way to darker, muddier incidents. As things escalate to a frightening pitch, how much of what's happening is real, how much is in Jaye's head, and how much does it matter as she's hurtling toward a fateful end over which she seems to have no control?

**

Read online

    Spellbound: The Books of Elsewhere

      Jacqueline West
Spellbound: The Books of Elsewhere

The next book in the thrilling, chilling New York Times bestselling series!

With no way into the McMartin house's magical paintings, and its three guardian cats reluctant to help, Olive's friend Morton is still trapped inside Elsewhere. So when Rutherford, the new oddball kid next door mentions a grimoire--a spellbook--Olive sees a glint of hope. If she can find the McMartins' spellbook, maybe she can help Morton escape Elsewhere for good. Unless, that is, the book finds Olive first. The house isn't the only one keeping secrets anymore . . .

Review

“Middle grade writing as it should be.”

(Minneapolis Star Tribune )

“A suspenseful read that leaves plenty of room for the next title in the series.”

(School Library Journal )

“A delightful tale filled with magic, adventure, danger and . . . [the] challenges of growing up.”

(MonstersandCritics.com )

“As Harry Potter fever takes over . . .The Books of Elsewhere is a great series for young readers who are interested in the world of spells, witches, potions and magic—plenty of fun, action and thrills.”

(Examiner.com )

The Books of Elsewhere just blew me away.”

(New Richmond News )

About the Author

Jacqueline West, a two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, lives in Red Wing, Minnesota.

Read online

    Still Life

      Jacqueline West
Still Life

The fifth and final book in The Books of Elsewhere, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling, fan-favorite series—absolutely not to be missed.

Annabelle McMartin is gone for good, but something worse lurks just out of sight—watching, waiting, preparing to strike. Then a field trip to the local art museum reveals a shock. What Olive discovers will create a chain of events that propel her to discoveries she may not wish to uncover, involving Morton's vanished parents and the very deepest, darkest roots of Aldous McMartin's creepy painted world. In this fifth and final book, Olive must seek the full, complex story of Elsewhere, its magical origins, and its creator, and in so doing, face her own fears and limitations—and possibly the destruction of Elsewhere itself. How far will Olive go to save the people and home she loves? And what will be the final cost?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch,...

Read online