Three Dollars

      Elliot Perlman
Three Dollars

The groundbreaking novel about economic rationalism and its effect on good, honest people.At once humorous and dramatic, Three Dollars is about Eddie, an honest, compassionate man who finds himself, at the age of 38, with a wife, a child and three dollars. How did he get that way? And who is Amanda? He cared about people; he was, Amanda notwithstanding, a good husband, father and son. At any other time the world would have smiled on him. But this was the nineties and the world valued other things. Three Dollars chronicles the present breach of the social contract and its effect on a home near you. It is a brilliantly deft portrait of a man attempting to retain his humanity, his family and his sense of humour in grim and pitiless times: times of downsizing, outsourcing and privatising. It is about the legacy of Thatcherism and its effects on people and their relationships.'Few novels ever dare to fuse emotional and economic life with the passionate intelligence of...

Read online

    The Lady of Secrets

      Susan Carroll
The Lady of Secrets

This brilliant new installment in bestselling author Susan Carroll’s mesmerizing Dark Queen historical fiction series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.   Queen Catherine de Medici is dead, and for Meg Wolfe—successor in a line of legendary healers and mystics known as “daughters of the earth”—it is a time of new beginnings. She strives to be ordinary, invisible in the mists of Faire Isle, and is determined to put the terrifying days of a wicked mother and turbulent childhood behind her. But soon a summons from King James will rekindle a menacing power from the past, bringing haunting visions of a nightmare already unfolding—and a shattering mystery steeped in magic that will determine a destiny from which she cannot hide.   Meg’s task: Save the king from the most insidious form of treachery, invisible to those who do not possess Meg’s extraordinary gifts. But as Meg discovers, there are more sinister motivations at play in the king’s world. Torn between two very different men whose motives and secrets are tied inexorably to her own fate, Meg learns that she can no longer trust anyone or anything—not even her own heart.   Praise for Susan Carroll’s Twilight of a Queen   “[Susan] Carroll’s vivid portrayal of Catherine de Medici is mesmerizing, but the evil queen does not overshadow either the romance or the strong characterization and plot that are Carroll’s hallmarks.”—RT Book Reviews   “Fascinating . . . full of twists and turns and a lot of intriguing historical detail.”—Night Owl ReviewsFrom the Trade Paperback edition.

Read online

    The Burglar in the Library

      Lawrence Block
The Burglar in the Library

SUMMARY: Bookseller and New-Yorker-to-the-bone, Bernie Rhodenbarr rarely ventures out of Manhattan, but he's excited about the romantic getaway he has planned for himself and current lady love Lettice at the Cuttleford House, a remote upstate b&b. Unfortunately, Lettice has a prior engagement—she's getting married . . . and not to Bernie—so he decides to take best buddy Carolyn instead. A restful respite from the big city's bustle would be too good to waste. Besides, there's a very valuable first edition shelved in the Cuttleford's library that Bernie's just itching to get his hands on. Did we neglect to mention that Bernie's a burglar? But first he's got to get around a very dead body on the library floor. The plot's thickened by an isolating snowstorm, downed phone lines, the surprise arrival of Lettice and her reprehensible new hubby, and a steadily increasing corpse count. And it's Bernie who'll have to figure out whodunit . . . or die.
Read online

    The Sky at Our Feet

      Nadia Hashimi
The Sky at Our Feet

This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting By Sevens.

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it's hard to feel American now when he's terrified that his mother will be discovered—and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he's overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl...

Read online

    Justin Bieber: Just Getting Started (100% Official)

      Justin Bieber
Justin Bieber: Just Getting Started (100% Official)

Get your backstage pass at the ready as you go behind the scenes with Justin Bieber, in his brand new book – 100% official – and discover what life is really like as the world’s hottest pop star!Justin Bieber has come a long way from being your average school kid, busking on the streets of the small town of Stratford, Ontario in Canada. And he wouldn’t be where he is today without his legion of loyal Beliebers – who have been with him every step of the way on this incredible journey. Now Justin wants to give something back to you, his very special fan – a VIP backstage peek at life behind the scenes, in his incredible new book.Starting from the first night of his debut world tour, Justin invites you to follow him on his rollercoaster ride to superstardom – as he visits the far corners of the globe, makes his very own movie, records his new album, wins numerous awards and pens a bestselling book, to name just a few of the amazing feats he’s achieved over the past few years.Justin Bieber: Just Getting Started is an exclusive peek inside Justin’s phenomenal world. You’ll share in the highs and lows of life on the road, reading Justin’s innermost thoughts and feelings as he navigates life in the limelight. You’ll hang out with him on the tour bus, and will share in the laughter as he pulls pranks on his crew!Jam packed with behind-the-scenes gossip, this is the only official book for Justin’s true fans.This ebook has been optimised for colour screens.
Read online

    Book From Net Titles Search

      Book Titles Search
Select the first letter       

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Read online

    Book From Net Authors Name Search

      Book Titles Search
Select the first letter        

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Read online

    A Blade So Black

      L.L. McKinney
A Blade So Black

"With memorable characters and page-turning thrills, A Blade So Black is the fantasy book I've been waiting for my whole life. Alice is Black Girl Magic personified." — Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Hate U Give

A Blade So Black delivers an irresistible urban fantasy retelling of Alice in Wonderland . . . but it's not the Wonderland you remember.

The first time the Nightmares came, it nearly cost Alice her life. Now she's trained to battle monstrous creatures in the dark dream realm known as Wonderland with magic weapons and hardcore fighting skills. Yet even warriors have a curfew.

Life in real-world Atlanta isn't always so simple, as Alice juggles an overprotective mom, a high-maintenance best friend, and a slipping GPA. Keeping the Nightmares at bay is turning into a full-time job. But when Alice's handsome and mysterious mentor is poisoned, she has to...

Read online