No Naked Ads -> Here!
No Naked Ads -> Here! $urlZ
Enlisting redemption, p.1
Larger Font   Reset Font Size   Smaller Font       Night Mode Off   Night Mode

       Enlisting Redemption, p.1

           D. Allen Henry
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17
Enlisting Redemption

  Enlisting Redemption


  D. Allen Henry

  © D. Allen Henry 2015

  On the Cover

  Public domain photos Photoshopped by the author

  Also by D. Allen Henry


  Hawk Banks

  Those Who Fought for Us

  My Father the God

  Of War and Women

  Finding Patience

  Galileo’s Lost Message


  To Laura…


  The twentieth century was dominated by a succession of wars, two of which were on a global scale never before seen on this planet. As such, the effects of those wars profoundly influenced the course of history. I am speaking of course of The Great War (termed World War I in the United States), World War II, and to a lesser extent, The Vietnam War, and the Gulf Wars. Although much has been written about the history of these wars (especially the first two), much less has been written about the effect of these wars on the lives of those who lived (and died) through them.

  The Sutherland Saga consists of a sequence of four novels, each of which chronicles the lives of one generation of the fictitious Sutherland family, the patriarch being the Earl of Winston. Set against the backdrop of world-changing events of the twentieth century, the saga traces the travails of the Earls of Winston and their loved ones. Having been awarded the Earldom of Winston by King James the First, the ancestral home of the Sutherland family is located at Wharton Manor in Gloucestershire, England.

  I have chosen each of the four wars mentioned above as the backdrop for one of the stories within The Sutherland Saga. Accordingly, the first book in the series depicts events during the era of World War I, whereas the second book spans the period of World War II. The timing for the third book is during the Vietnam War, and the fourth in the series spans a fifteen year period roughly corresponding to the Second Gulf War, thereby leading up to present day. As such, the plots are strongly connected to their associated wars and, although the storylines are intimately related to English culture, there is also a strong thread of both Scottish and American ancestry evident as the saga evolves.

  I have also written an ancillary novel, My Father the God, which may be viewed as a spin-off of the first novel in the series. This last novel in the series may be read as a standalone story, or in tandem with the second novel in the series, Of War and Women.

  The idea for the Sutherland Series was born from my own experiences, travels, loves, and losses, spanning a lifetime. While the stories themselves, including the primary characters, are entirely fictional, the places are not. In addition, I have, where appropriate, included historical figures who played significant roles in the events portrayed with the series. Indeed, I have attempted to portray both historical events and historical figures within the series as accurately as possible. Where I have erred, I offer my sincere apologies.

  Enlisting Redemption, the third in the series, depicts the lives of the Sutherland family spanning the era of the fourteenth Earldom of Winston, the backdrop for the events depicted herein being the period spanning the Vietnam War. As such, it may be read as a standalone novel, or it may be viewed as a sequel to Of War and Women, the characters being related, but the plotlines independent. I hope that this account will provide an enlightening and enjoyable experience for you the reader.


  Figure Credits

  Fig. 1 Map Showing Gloucestershire, graphic drawn by the author {{PD-dallenhenry}}

  Author’s Note Regarding Sectional Perspectives

  The reader will notice that throughout the text I have delineated sections by the use of boldface titles. These titles normally describe the setting location and date for that section. However, when only a date is included, it is implied that the location for that section is identical to that of the previous section. Furthermore, each section begins with a few boldface words immediately after the section setting. The name of the first person included in boldface within the section is intended to be the person whose perspective is taken within that section of the text.

  Author’s Note about Language

  One of the primary characters in this novel is a native of England. Accordingly, I have attempted to provide his use of English in a form that is at least somewhat congruent with that spoken in England. I have employed terms herein that are representative of the way that an English person might have spoken during the period of time spanned within this novel. Where I have done so, it is with the intention of either intensifying the plot or as a subtle reminder of the character’s lineage. I have attempted to use these terms accurately based on my own research. Where I have erred, I apologize to those who take offense, and I sincerely hope that this will not detract from the story portrayed herein.


  1615 – Alan Sutherland is appointed the first Earl of Winston by King James I of England

  1883 – William Sutherland becomes the Twelfth Earl of Winston

  1893 – Robert Sutherland is born in Gloucestershire, England

  1895 – Margaret MacCreedy is born in Melbourne, Australia

  1914-1918 – The Great War

  1917 – Trant Sutherland is born in London

  1919 – Robert Sutherland marries Margaret MacCreedy

  1920 – Robert Sutherland becomes the thirteenth Earl of Winston on the death of his father, William Sutherland

  1919 – Felicité Delacroix is born in Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy

  1939-1945 – World War II

  1946 – Trant Sutherland marries Felicité Delacroix

  1947 – Trevor Sutherland is born in England to Trant and Felicité Sutherland

  1948 – Rebecca Carey is born in Danville, Virginia

  1965 – Trant Sutherland becomes the fourteenth Earl of Winston on the death of his father, Robert Sutherland

  1965 – The United States enters the Vietnam War

  1968 – The Vietnam War escalates

  September, 1968 – Rebecca and Trevor meet in Charlottesville

  December, 1968 – Rebecca disappears in the Potomac River

  January, 1969 – Trevor joins the U.S. Army

  Spring, 1969 – Trevor goes to Vietnam

  1973 – The Vietnam War ends

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17
Turn Navi Off
Turn Navi On
Scroll Up
Add comment

Add comment